Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Faculty of Languages & Literatures

African Linguistics and Literatures

Print page
network BannerBild


African Linguistics and Literatures in African Languages are part of a vibrant international academic community which closely works together in teaching, doctoral training and research.

For student and staff exchange in Europe, we cooperate with colleagues from excellent centres of African studies in Erasmus partnerships. On the African continent, there are a number of universities with which we have formalized our cooperation to facilitate research and studying. Furthermore, there are also other institutes in the German-speaking Europe, with whom we are closely related (also through the Fachverband Afrikanistik). The project Recalibrating Afrikanistik, which is funded by the Volkswagen Foundation, started in 2020 and created a partnership between our faculty and those in Leipzig, Cologne, Bayreuth, Wukari (Nigeria), Stellenbosch (South Africa), and Eldoret (Kenya). Since 2015, we have had a special student and staff exchange programme with the university of Fort Hare (South Africa) funded by DAAD.

The contents of this Homepage have been prepared with great care. Nevertheless we cannot accept liability for the accuracy, relevance or timeliness of the information it contains.

​Erasmus partnershipsHide
  • Belgium: Universiteit Gent
  • France: Institut National des Langues et Civilisations Orientales (INALCO)
  • Italy: Università degli Studi di Napoli l'Orientale
  • Poland: Uniwersytet Warszawski
  • Uk: School of Oriental and African Studies (University of London) 

You can find information about application here.

More information at: International Office University of Bayreuth

African partner universitiesHide
  • Angola: Universidade Agostinho Neto
  • Benin: University of Abomey-Calavi
  • Burkina Faso: Université de Ouagadougou
  • Cameroon: Université de Yaoundé I
  • Cameroon: University of Buea
  • Mayotte: Centre Universitaire de Formation et de Recherche
  • DR Congo: Université de Kinshasa
  • Ethiopia: University of Addis Ababa
  • Kenya: Kenyatta University
  • Kenya: Maseno University
  • Kenya: Moi University, Eldoret
  • Kenya: University of Nairobi
  • Morocco: Université Mohammed V de Rabat
  • Mozambique: Universidade Eduardo Mondlane
  • Nigeria: University of Maiduguri
  • South Africa: University of Fort Hare
  • South Africa: University of KwaZulu-Natal
  • Tanzania: State University of Zanzibar (SUZA)
  • Tanzania: University of Dar es Salaam
  • Togo: Université de Lomé
  • Tunesia: Université de Sousse
​German-speaking Institutes of African Linguistics and LiteraturesHide

Webmaster: Marouen Amri

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog Contact